Glasgow University Historical Arts Society

The University of Glasgow is home to one of our oldest clubs, which runs during university term time.

GUHAS is a student society at the University of Glasgow. The group offers both historical fencing and heritage crafting tuition, as well as a strong personal development programme. This club is blessed with several qualified instructors, so participants will always have an opportunity to practice with well trained and experienced teachers.

Day and Time:

The society meets every Friday evening during term time in The Vanguard Centre, between 6pm and 9pm.

Also, the society meets on Tuesday evenings during term time in the Dining Room of the Glasgow University Union, between 7pm and 9pm.


Friday evenings:
The Vanguard Centre
63 Commerce Street
Glasgow, G5 8AD

Tuesday evenings:
Glasgow University Union
32 University Avenue
Glasgow, G12 8LX

Disciplines Studied:

This club trains both German longsword and Scottish broadsword on a regular basis, and from time to time studies other interesting disciplines. Historical crafting activities are taught on a weekly basis at this club.

On Friday evenings the session involves historical crafting for an hour then Scottish basket-hilted broadsword for two hours. On Tuesday evenings, the sole discipline is the medieval German longsword.

Club Membership and Fees:

Anyone over the age of 18 may become a member of this club. We welcome both men and women, and tend to have people from many different nationalities and backgrounds. You can join this club even if you are not a university student, although you may not hold any position on the executive committee.

The price of club membership is £25 per year, consisting of two costs:
- £10 club membership fee;
- £15 AHA subscription (this fee does not apply if you already have a valid and up-to-date AHA subscription).

Weekly meetings are free of charge.

Club Uniform (and what to bring with you):

The club uniform consists of loose-fitting black trousers (not denim) and a plain white t-shirt. White t-shirts with AHA logos are allowed (and are available to purchase here through Corsair's Wares) but otherwise the only t-shirts allowed are plain white t-shirts with no logos, colours, images or text upon them.

Indoor shoes are required. Outdoor boots, formal shoes, and other footwear that is likely to leave marks on the hall floor should not be worn. Please note that footwear IS required and that training barefoot (or just in socks) is not an option.

Additionally, you should bring with you a bottle of water and a pair of thin gloves (to help protect your hand and wrist from chafing on the sword). If you suffer from asthma then you should bring your inhaler with you; if you need other medication then you should contact the club instructor through the contact form below to see if there may be any problems.

Find us on Facebook:

You can find GUHAS on Facebook:

Contact Form:

To contact the executive committee, please use this contact form.

When you submit this form, your message will be emailed to the executive committee, who will respond as soon as possible. You will also receive an email copy of the message for your own records.

Quick Contact Form

* required field.







Roll of Honour (Committee):

President: Jacob Ford
Secretary: Kindred Willow
Treasurer: Mungo McKoen
Social Convenor: Jaroslaw Kiroda
Teaching Convenor: Katharina Patommel
Teaching Convenor: Christian Lopez

President: Friederike Jöhlinger
Secretary: Marit Behner
Treasurer: Tom Coady
Social Convenor: Daniel Gerlei

President: Friederike Jöhlinger
Secretary: Marit Behner
Treasurer: Tom Coady
Social Convenor: Emily Jamieson

President: Reinis Rinka
Secretary: Friederike Jöhlinger
Treasurer: Aristeidis Liokis

President: Maksim Solovjov
Secretary: Catriona Hogg
Treasurer: Aristeidis Liokis

President: Benjamin Hawkins
Secretary: Catriona Hogg
Treasurer: Niamh Brown

President: Alex Bourdas
1st Secretary: Angus Shepherd
2nd Secretary: Keith Farrell
3rd Secretary: Catriona Hogg
Treasurer: Philippa Ramsay-Baggs

President: Elizabeth Thacker
Secretary: Alex Bourdas
Treasurer: Joe Doubtfire

President: Ben Kerr
Secretary: Elizabeth Thacker
Treasurer: David Talbot

President: Ben Kerr
Secretary: Elizabeth Thacker
Treasurer: Rebecca Suddick